Health and Safety Executive Management Standards

health and safety executive management standards

This section discusses the health and safety executive management standards. So, read on to learn more about this topic.


HSE must protect people from risks to their health and safety. It does this by setting and enforcing standards. These set out the legal requirements that employers and employees must follow to keep people safe. 

The Health and Safety Executive (HSE) is also an executive non-departmental public body of the Department for Work and Pensions. It also employs around 4,000 staff and has a budget of £2.5 billion for 2011-12. Of this, £1.4 billion is spent on regulation and enforcement, £1.2 billion on advice and support, and £0.1 billion on administration; the rest is spent on the HSE’s other functions. Such as research, information and communications technology (ICT), education, training and development, international activities, finance, corporate services, and property.

Top 5 Health and Safety Executive Management Standards

Below are some of the top health and safety executive management standards. So, let’s go into the details of each standard. 

1. Demand

The Demand standard sets out the actions that employers must take to make sure that people are protected from risks from work activities. The standard also applies to all work activities. It also covers the full range of health and safety duties for everyone who has a duty under the Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974 (HSWA). 

2. Control

The Control standard sets out the principles for managing risks to health and safety at work. It also covers duties that are ‘strict’ or ‘absolute’ under the HSWA. Strict duties are set out in criminal law, and absolute duties are prescribed in the HSWA. 

3. Development

The Development standard sets out the requirements for developing a health and safety policy, risk assessment, safe systems of work, control measures, personal protective equipment (PPE), and first-aid arrangements. An organization that has a legal duty to assess risk must develop these documents. They must also have a health and safety policy that provides a framework for taking action to protect employees from risks to their health and safety at work. 

The Development standard also applies to anyone who has a duty under HSWA to carry out or arrange for an assessment of the risk to health and safety arising from work activities. They must also carry out any necessary assessments and keep them up to date. If they do not, they are in breach of their duty.

4. Maintenance

The Maintenance standard sets out how to keep people safe at work by preventing or reducing risks. Including risks arising from work activities, equipment, substances, and physical agents. The standard applies to everyone who has a duty under the HSWA. 

5. Investigation.

The Investigation standard describes how organizations that have legal duties under the HSWA should manage investigations into incidents where someone has died, been seriously injured, or contracted a disease linked to their work. The standard covers who should investigate, how investigations must be carried out, and what the outcome of the investigation should be. It also sets out the organization’s responsibilities after an investigation has been completed. 

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

No Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *